Annual Insanity

It’s that time of year again. The time when writers sit around the table at the writing implements of their choice and try to hammer out fifty thousand [coherent] words in thirty days. That’s right, it’s National Novel Writing Month.

I participated in NaNo last year, and “won” with something like 52,200 words (or something like that. I don’t recall the exact number). I had a story that had been bouncing around in my head for the better part of fifteen years. Character formation was done over years of daydreams. And I had an outline, so things went relatively smooth.

This year? Chaos.

I have no outline. Only two characters have names, and that’s only their first names. The plot is vague. Probably because I didn’t even have that much of an idea until a couple weeks ago, and I’m still trying to build it into something.

I have tried to “pants” stories in the past. I had a single plot, or sometimes not even that, and they all failed gloriously. This year has so far (knock on wood) gone okay. It’s been adequate. The first two days I wrote around 1760 words each day.

As I just started a new shift schedule at work (4-10hr days instead of 5-8’s) it has made finding the time to write interesting. And without an outline, it has been challenging and very slow going.

But if last year’s success taught me anything, it’s to take my time. I can’t just skip ahead to the end and expect it to work. With that, I’ll head back to my notebook to try to figure out a couple details. And I’ll try to keep you up to date on my progress!

Happy writing!

3 thoughts on “Annual Insanity

Leave a Reply

