NaNoWriMo Day 19 Update

Wow! Day 19 already! I’ve got to say that this has been an incredible experience, and I’m not even done yet.  As of this evening, I’m sitting at 32,255 words (49 single-spaced pages in Word!).  For a proper novel, I’m still maybe only half done, if that.  At times I wonder if I’ll have enough material to finish just the 50,000 words, and others I wonder what point I’ll be at once I reach that goal mark.

Today is one of the former.  It’s also yet another day I sit here wondering if my story is any good, or if I’m honestly fooling myself that I gave the ability to write a full novel.  Right now, I’m definitely sure that what I have written is crap, and probably not worth the e-paper it’s written on.

It’s times like this I have to remind myself…it’s a rough draft.  It’s absolutely authorized to (if not expected to) be total crap.  So many published authors will tell you their first drafts are all a big, steamy pile of mess.  That’s what editing is for.

I know that some of my short stories I’ve posted here on my blog, though half the word count as my target during NaNo, have taken me twice the length of time to write.  But the goal with those is to write a finished product, the first time around as opposed to keep writing and writing for the sake of words.

In the speed of the NaNo novel sprint, I know I’ve got scenes in which I hop character POVs and tell instead of show.  I keep reminding myself I can work all that out in the rewrite, in addition to adding some setting descriptions, which I find I’ve been practically ignoring this month, albeit unintentionally.

Maybe this novel will never see the light of a bookstore, but even where I’m at now, it’s been a tremendous learning opportunity.  The main thing I’ve learned is that plotting and outlining has definitely kept me on track and kept me going.  If you can pants a novel, more power to you.  If you can pants NaNo…I’m in awe of your writerly abilities.

I’ve rambled long enough.  If you’re doing NaNo, how is it going for you?  I’d love to hear about your progress and anything you’ve learned through this experience!

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 19 Update

  1. It sounds like you’re doing well 🙂 I’m at just over 33,000 words now and my novel is all over the place. I even started again(although I kept the 10k I’d already written) 😉 but I don’t really have an ending in mind. I think I’ll end up scrapping this draft and then cannibalising when I re-write.
    I’ve pants’d NaNo this year and I won’t be doing that again. NaNo has taught me this year that I at least have to do a little planning before hand.

    1. I can’t even imagine the weight that would be pressing on me if I tried to go without planning. Previous writing attempts (on this same story, coincidentally) the furthest I got was 12 pages before I had no idea where it was going. I may be crazy, but I’m looking forward to the rewrite once this draft is complete.

Leave a Reply

