Submerged

(From the prompt for Day 8 of the November Poem A Day Chapbook Challenge, to write a “submerged” poem.)

Seeking distraction
into a reality not mine,
I crack open the pages
and dip my toes into the
fantasy world.
One step after another
until the waters of fiction
submerge me,
envelope my senses.
The magic of words
course through my veins,
and for a few hours
my identity is not my own
until the final scene
draws me back out
of the ocean of words.
Patiently I wait until
I can take that swim
once more.

8 thoughts on “Submerged

Leave a Reply

