Simmer a Story

(From the prompt for Day 7 of the November Poem A Day Chapbook Challenge, to write a “simmer down” poem. After a couple thousand words typed for NaNo, I needed a little break.)

Ingredients gathered,
I measure,
Mix,
Sort.
Intrigue,
Suspense,
…Death.
The balance precarious,
I analyze the goal,
the end product I seek to create.
I light a fire,
get them moving.
Elements respond to the urgency,
bursting from my mind
to the paper.
At times too much,
I turn the heat down
to let the ideas steep a while,
their flavors melding together
to form a rich blend
of emotion.
I let the story simmer
so it won’t burn.

2 thoughts on “Simmer a Story

Leave a Reply

