NaNoWriMo Nerves

So here I sit on my front porch awaiting Trick-or-Treaters so I can give them lots of free (for them!) candy, and it’s starting to dawn on me that National Novel Writing Month—which I did officially sign up as a participant—will be beginning in about five hours. I’m nervous as I’ve ever been for any sort of big undertaking….possibly (probably!) even more so. You’d think I was about to go on stage for a big performance, as my hands are actually shaking as I’m trying to type this.

Geez. I need to chill the hell out.

Let me get into the details for a minute, for those not in the writing know. National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a month where we have lost touch with reality, gone completely mental, and decided that we are going to write 50,000 words in the month of November, that will hopefully resemble some sort of coherent story that can later be revised into a novel for real publication.

I guess those that are also into numbers have figured it to be an average of 1,667 words per day in order to meet the goal. With overtime at work, a long commute, sleep (probably going to be less of that this month!), and my attempts at getting less-fat, this is going to be an interesting month. Add in Robert Lee Brewer’s November Poem A Day Chapbook Challenge with Writer’s Digest, and I’m pretty sure that I need to be medicated and committed….possibly in that order.

Well, there you have it….my confessions of impending madness. But now I’m curious…Anyone else going to join me on this trip into literary insanity? If so, you can find me on the NaNo sight under SheepCarrot!

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Nerves

  1. I will be there too and I am feeling nervous. My first year doing NaNo and I’m sure I will be every year to come. I did not know about the other challenge in November but I might just check it out and pile it on! Best of writer’s luck to you and see you in there 🙂

  2. Can you say “Glutton for Punishment”? lol Good luck with your efforts. And, no, I’m not joining you in either effort though I will be rooting for you. I’ve already picked out my own particular brand of pain for the coming month.

    1. Based on the classes I liked to play in my mmo video games (healer, usually), I already knew I was a glutton for punishment. Lol thanks for the well wishes! I think I’m going to need them!

Leave a Reply

