Writing Quirks

As the month progresses, I got waaaay behind on the Writer’s Digest Platform Challenge while my parents were here. It seemed we were on the run so much that in the evenings (or nights, I guess) when I finally got back home and got my computer open, I was too tired to even put my fingers to the keyboard, let alone formulate words into a blog post or any sort of coherent sentence. So yesterday I spent a lot of time catching up, finishing a post that I had been trying to write since Sunday, and attempting to get back into the frame of mind I need to be come November.

I also started a poem for the Wednesday Poetry Prompt this week. That’s when I noticed something very odd about my writing habits. Or maybe it’s just odd to me.

wpid-img_20150902_141809471.jpg
From when I was writing “Summer’s Beauty”

I write poetry longhand. I don’t type it, all neat on the screen. I carry a notebook that I scribble the words in, cross some out, reword it, draw arrows as I change line orders or even take them out entirely. I brought my notebook in the house with me after work in order to keep working on it (didn’t happen, unfortunately…long story short there was a trip to Wal-Mart for a hunting license when Dylan got home). I’ve written it on smaller notepads and sticky notes even, the words never making it to the computer until after it is deemed mostly complete.

My stories, however…my stories are almost always typed first. I do occasionally write them longhand, but that’s a rare occurrence. I’m not sure why they flow to me better when my fingers can touch the letters of the keyboard, but that always seems to be the case. I have written a couple stories on my phone as well, but that’s less preferable than longhand.

It just seemed odd to me that I write this way. So now I pose the question to you…what are your writing quirks? Do you have a habit that has to happen for the creativity to flow? I’d be interested to hear it!

6 thoughts on “Writing Quirks

  1. This is interesting actually, and something I had not really thought of before, I’m the same, a lot of my poems start life as scattered notes on paper, but my stories are always typed!
    I don’t know if I’d call it a quirk, but I generally find that listening to music while writing usually gets my creative juices flowing…I’ve made playlists especially for writing, in fact πŸ˜›

    1. I know of those that have different playlists depending on the genre they’re writing, but I’ve not ever had a preference on that. Sometimes I need quiet, other times the white noise of the TV is beneficial for me. Just don’t ask me to carry on a conversation! πŸ™‚

      1. See I have to go and do it in the spare room, which has kind of become my ‘study’ – quiet always required! Get too distracted if the TV is on at the same time πŸ˜›

  2. I am so very glad to hear that I am not the only one with writing quirks. In grad school I forced myself to writing as I typed because there just was not enough time to do my preferred method-write in longhand.

    I am using the blogs as a vehicle to become comfortable in creating effectively by typing. Sadly, it isn’t working well. I am much more comfortable writing my work out in longhand (that picture you posted is what all of my work looks like). I “feel” the essence of each word flow as the thoughts move from my brain to my fingers, through the pen and onto the page.

    After reading your post, I have come to grips with the fact that I am not a weirdo but a longhand savant who is happy, energized and ready to write a first draft, during NaNoWriMo or whatever it is…in a stack of college ruled notebooks (with #2 lead mechanical pencils) recently purchased during my last Wal-Mart run. Whoo hoo!!

    1. My prose just has issues coming to me longhand, though I do that at times when I can’t break out my computer. I always feel like it’s sub-par and in need of a lot of revisions when I get it typed up.

      1. And it is small differences like these that make the world go round and make for interesting melting pot of people we call United States. Lol I feel the same way about computer pecking…. lol

Leave a Reply

