From Accidental Haiku to National Poetry Day…

It’s been almost two months since I rolled up my sleeves and started trying to learn poetry. Before that, I had very clear ideas about it. I didn’t do poetry. Ever. Except for a those four…but “that’s how those words spoke to me.”

wpid-img_20151008_093303.jpgThen the funniest thing happened. Writer’s Digest put up a writing prompt “Word Box” in which we were to use the listed random words in a poem. I just about gave up right there. A poem! What I did next changed my relationship with poetry. I sent my displeasure with the prompt out on Twitter.

I was completely shocked when I got a response. And not just from anyone…but from Robert Lee Brewer, of Writer’s Digest’s Poetic Asides column. I couldn’t believe that he had responded to me, or that he had taken the time to break my own words down into a poetic form.

wpid-img_20151008_093338.jpgThat was a turning point in my relationship with poetry. I buckled down and completed the writing prompt, turning the random words into Missing. Then I started not only doing the creative writing prompts, but the Wednesday poetry prompts as well (with the exception of last week’s…I couldn’t think of anything “spectacular”).

That was my decent into madness poetry, and to be honest, I’ve very much enjoyed the trip! For someone who has been thinking in prose for years and years, trying to formulate a poem (especially when I have tried to do a new poetic form for the first time) is just hard! But that’s what gives me such a great sense of accomplishment when it’s done.

So, thank you Robert Lee Brewer for giving me that little nudge into the poetic world. I can honestly say I wouldn’t have written any of these poems the past two months if you hadn’t pointed out my accidental haiku. Happy National Poetry Day!

2 thoughts on “From Accidental Haiku to National Poetry Day…

Leave a Reply

