Days 4 and 5

Today marks day 5 in the October Platform Challenge. Yesterday, as I spent the day at the football game and Joe’s Crab Shack, it’s time for me to get caught up. This was rather weird to me, as I don’t have anything (other than this tiny blog) published, and with my wedding and a name change on the horizon, I wasn’t sure if I should go with my name now or what it will be come May. I sound like I’m rambling, so let me clarify.

Day 4, the challenge was to Claim Your Domain. In other words, claim myself in a web address so when I do publish, people can find me. As I don’t know when I’ll be working on the site, I wasn’t sure if I should go with what my married name will be. Or maybe I’ll write under my maiden name…I still haven’t decided. (I’ve even toyed with the idea of a pen name, but figured all that could wait until I had actually completed my novel.)

Day 5’s (today’s) challenge was easier. Join Facebook. Well, I already have the facebooks, but I like have my feed be private. So I created an “writer” page (I feel weird calling myself an author. In my mind, that’s someone who has already published a book.) So, if you’re interested, you can find my [under construction] writer page at http://www.facebook.com/ElizaWinklerWriter. This was easier to use my current name, as I can change it once and I will do that once Dylan and I are married.

Challenges done!

9 thoughts on “Days 4 and 5

  1. Hey Sheepcarrot, thou aren’t rambling…it’s your musings. Lol. Glad to know I am not alone in the weirdness of defining myself as an author, but doggone it, it is on FB, so therefore I AM! 🙂

    1. I still can’t decide even the name I want to write under (initials maybe? Maybe not…I’ve no idea) but I’ve got my first draft to finish (or start, to be honest) before I even need to worry about that seriously….right? >.< I feel sometimes like I'm doing it all wrong and backwards…

      1. Nah..I don’t believe in all wrong. everyone’s process is different. I will say this, don’t let not having a name stop u from writing. If you think you have to have a name, then use Shellie Cooper. It is what Sheldon Cooper’s name would be if he were a girl. LOVE BIG BANG THEORY! He is smart, funny and little sarcastic, but cool.Frim the name Sheepcarrot and the pics of the football game, I will venture a guess that u are too. 🙂

      2. Hey me too! I JUST finished reading the list of 30 items to help get through it. I also read from Jerry Jenkins blog, determine if you are a pantser or an outliner..and here’s how to outline even if you are a panther. I figured an outline would help in getting through the NaNoWriMo. I determined, I am a pantser who will just have to outline something to get by. lol

      3. Pantsing (that sounds funny, especially to those scratching their head trying to figure out what that is) never quite worked for me…so I made a rough outline (scene summaries, basically) that I am going to trust to get me through this! Check out advancedfictionwriting.com. He gives some good advice on for planning that he calls the “snowflake method.” It really helped me find more direction for my novel. 🙂

      4. Oh yea…thanks! That snowflake method comes from some dude that is a neuroscientist or some brainiac profession that I can’t spell or pronounce. lol I will check it out.

  2. I’m using my maiden name, which more people know me by, followed by my married name, which I’ve only had for two years. Colleen Eccles Penor. If I had to choose between the two, I’d use Colleen Eccles because I think it looks nicer in print.

Leave a Reply

