Hesitate to Say

(From Writer’s Digest Wednesday Poetry Prompt 323, and something of a gripe from this last weekend)

I hesitate to bring this up for fear of what they’ll say.
Saturday’s Christian festival—how I’m glad they went away!
Thousands gathered at fairground near for their concerts about God,
But in my yard naught else was heard, only talk with smile and nod.
Can’t they at least consider us, those of the community?
Rather than dividing us, promote neighborhood unity.
I care not if they gather there. They can have their joyful song.
But let me talk without screaming. I chose not to go along.

One thought on “Hesitate to Say

Leave a Reply

