Wedding Count

(From the Writer’s Digest Wednesday Poetry Prompt: 321)

Counting down to my wedding day,
I found the one who’s here to stay.
Those before him wasted my time
The last one used me for my dime.

Now we’re planning. Venue and dress
Have been decided—half the mess!
Eight months to go, no time at all,
Seven have passed. It’s really fall?

“How many bridesmaids?” all ask me.
Not six or five or four or three.
I don’t need any for our plans,
Just he and I to join our hands
Before the priest with ropes so soft
Handfasting us. It’s not seen oft.

Own up to our flaws on that day.
“Will you anger him?”  “Yes, I may.”
Beautiful vows begin our life,
Then I’ll say proudly, “I’m his wife.”

3 thoughts on “Wedding Count

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m really glad you like it, and I can’t wait to show it to Dylan tonight too. I get all emotional to think about how beautiful the ceremony will be and how it’s going the perfect beginning of our married life together.

Leave a Reply

