A Few Questions

blogger-awardA few days ago, Beatriz of the blog gardeningB nominated me for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award. I’m truly honored that she thought of my humble little blog for this. She posed a couple questions to me, that I shall now try to answer in the least boring way possible.

1. What is the most gratifying thing you have done?
Several things crossed my mind when thinking of this. There have been some difficult things that I’ve been through, but I realized that the most difficult doesn’t necessarily mean that completing it makes it the most gratifying. I’m still not sure if what I’ve chosen is the most gratifying ever, but it was fairly recent and so the memory and emotions are still very strong.

I would say my first 5k I ran, back in March, was my most gratifying moment. I suppose that saying I ran it was a bit inaccurate as I did a lot of walking during that as well, but I completed it, with my bad knee (I wrote about it back in April). I remember the great feeling of accomplishment when I finished it, the soreness in my legs for days following, and how I wanted to run another soon after.

2. What’s your favorite food?
This too has so many possible answers! We’re soon going to come upon the time of year I refer to as Pumpkin Season, during which I can get in all manners of trouble as I love just about anything and everything pumpkin. I’ve also recently been introduced to some wonderful seafood that in years past I would turn my nose up at because I didn’t do anything seafood as it was all too…fishy. Now I’m looking forward to our next trip to Joe’s Crab Shack to get a steamer pot with crab legs and lobster.

Both of these food loves I’ve written about before as well, so I’ll bring up my other weakness. Peanut butter. That sweet spread that I’d swear is manna from the gods. It’s got so many wonderful purposes, many wonderful varieties. (Have you tried the Reese’s Chocolate Peanut Butter spread? Yummy!!!) While I love peanut butter on many things, the most dangerous thing I can do is pick up a jar of peanut butter and a spoon. A lot of times, I find it safer for me (and my weight) to keep peanut butter out of the house. A jar never seems to last very long around here.

3. What would you like to do before you die?
This is another question that has too many answers, so here’s two. I would like to finish and publish a novel. Maybe more, but I’ve got to get the first one done before I think about a second, third, or fourth. I’ve been trying to outline one that I’ve had the characters running around in my head for ages now (since college) and that’s been a difficult and still incomplete process. I tried to just sit down and write it once, and now with the outline not working either I’m wondering if the premise behind the book is any good at all or if I need to scrap the entire project.

The other thing I’d really love to do is to do a little bit of world travelling. The places I’d select might get me some funny looks from all except my father, who I know has wanted to go to one of these places as well. I grew up going to Yellowstone every year, so a love of geysers is genetic. Because of this, I’d love to go to New Zealand and Iceland to see their thermal features, and even more so, to Russia. I’d like to make a trip to the Kamchatka Peninsula and visit Dolina Geizerov(Russian: Долина гейзеров), or the Valley of the Geysers. It is the second largest concentration of thermal features in the world, with Yellowstone being the first. I was very sad to hear of the mudslide in 2007 that covered many of the features there, as the balance for these are very delicate and can be destroyed forever very easily. Two-thirds of the Valley was irreversibly affected.

Okay, enough of my ramblings. Thanks again, Beatriz, for the nomination. I now shall pass the award on to a few fellow bloggers who I enjoy reading. It’s quite up to you to participate or not, whichever you’re inclined to do. My nominees are: Brey, Damyanti, and a fairly new blogger, Diana.

My questions to you are:
1. What is your fondest childhood memory?
2. What is your favorite hobby/pastime?
3. What would you consider your greatest accomplishment?

I look forward to reading your answers!

3 thoughts on “A Few Questions

  1. Thank you so much for thinking of me!
    I am working on answering the questions, between rounds of solitare 😉

    World travelling is on my bucket list as well, although my list includes the United States too.
    I am sorry to say I am not a fan of peanut butter, though. I tried peanut butter when I was 20 and I was not impressed.

Leave a Reply

