Booting the Boot

Wednesday night after work, when I got to my car, I took off the walking boot for the last time. I can’t even begin to express my excitement at being done with it and moving on to the next stage of my recovery. No more hiking boot on the other foot, all day every day, every time I have to move. When I had the boot, it felt weird walking because it had such a thick sole that I was uneven even wearing my hiking boot. Once I put a normal shoe on, it felt weird because I was once again even after six and a half weeks.

For some this may sound almost trivial, but it’s been an annoyance in my life I am glad to be rid of. I can go back to my sandals and barefoot-around-the-house ways. I know the boot had a necessary purpose in my healing, and I’m glad it did its job. But now it’s time for me to move on.

Physical therapy hasn’t been the horrible experience I had in the Army, and for that I’m grateful. I’ve been talking to my therapist about when I can start running again, and right now she’s said we can start that after I’m able to walk normally without the bit of a limp I still have. So my next questions were: can I do any other cardio, and is it okay for me to walk on the treadmill if I’m careful to not push it? Good answers there. Yes (if I use a recumbent stationary bike) and yes.

My therapist also told me this week while she was massaging the injured muscle that she could feel the improvement in my leg. I was excited by that, and with the news that I can go for a walk on the treadmill now, I can’t wait to go back to the gym.

One thought on “Booting the Boot

Leave a Reply

