Finding Balance in Books

I’m not talking about yoga or tai chi, though you can find books on those as well. I’m just wondering if my addiction to reference books on writing has gotten out of hand. A few are good, certainly. You can learn all manners of things: new ways of planning out a story, pointers on how to build interesting characters that will keep your audience enthralled, advice on creating a detailed setting without going into pages and pages of narrative.

So when does it become too much?

wpid-wp-1438654988812.jpeg

I wish I had an answer for that. Each book has something to offer, something I find valuable. As with any other reference materials, they still won’t do me any good if I don’t put their principles into use. Have I too many? I sure hope not, as there are more that I have my eye on. I suppose only my writing can determine that.

Or maybe a therapist.

3 thoughts on “Finding Balance in Books

Leave a Reply

