My Gateway Fish

It’s been a long time since I would eat any sort of seafood.  When I was a kid, Mom used to make red snapper or trumpeter until the store quit carrying them.  I even liked shrimp, until I was about 7 or 8 and I saw one with the tail still on.

My mom didn’t make fish often, and for quite a while not at all.  I was in high school when she made rainbow trout.  I tried a little piece, and quit eating fish after that.  I mean….it’s just too…fishy.

There were exceptions, of course.  I was still okay with the little pre-breaded frozen fish sticks, and when I went to England I loved the fish ‘n’ chips there.  Occasionally I would even be in the mood for a bowl of New England clam chowder.

Now fish is supposed to be healthy, blah blah, etc etc.  I never gave that any mind, until I saw a cooking show that was making a teriyaki salmon.  “If there’s a non fish-eater in your house, this is how you get them to eat fish.”

Hmmmm….I figured it was worth a shot, so I gave it a try.  I was very surprised to find it delicious, and soon it was a regular rotation in my meal planning.  I then thought, perhaps I’ll learn to like other fish too, now that I’ve found a way that I enjoy salmon.  That’s when I started calling it my “gateway fish.”

Now there’s a problem of getting involved with a fisherman when you don’t like fish.  But Dylan assured me that he can cook fish that it’s not all fishy, so I gave it a chance.  It was simple, too. Not fried and breaded with tartar sauce or whatever else people put on it.  Just some salt, pepper, lemon, and bit of water.

That got me hooked on fish. A trip to Red Lobster got me hooked on shrimp.  That was also when I had my first taste of lobster.  After that, it was a trip to Joe’s Crab Shack.

There’s no going back after that.  No denying my new love of seafood.  I’m now the one giving people odd looks when they utter the same phrase I used to say, “I don’t like seafood.”  Salmon truly was my gateway fish, leading me on to the harder stuff.  I’m still no pro at cracking open crab legs, but that doesn’t matter so much.

I still don’t like trout, but in my mind, who needs it?  There are so many other delicious fishes and sea bugs to eat, so why bother with that one?

One thought on “My Gateway Fish

  1. Yep, you’re well beyond your gateway fish. You are now officially a seafood person. I should get a bag of little neck clams and steam them, cos Dylan likes them too.

Leave a Reply

