The Sweetest Thing

There will always be certain times that stick out in our minds. Memories that refuse to be quietly filed away with all the other mundane occurrences. Many of those can be bad, such as what you were doing on 9-11. Others are less sad but rather more striking. Several things from basic training come readily to mind for me.

And then there’s the joyous times—the moments that will make you smile for no obvious reason (which may or may not have nearby strangers wondering if you’re either a bit daft or downright psychotic).

Tuesday was one of those days. My life changed in a moment I will forever treasure.

Dylan works second shift at his job, and he gets off work at 11pm. He then stays up most of the night as his “evening” so that he has wind down/decompression time. I try to stay up so that I can spend time with him, but I’m not a night person and tend to fall asleep on the couch without warning. Monday was such a night.

Little known to me, as soon as I fell asleep he got to work. When he was done, he woke me up. “Honey, I need your help with something outside. It’ll just take a minute and then you can go back to sleep.”

So I got up, pulled on my coat, and kinda stumbled out the door behind him, my eyes still dry and gritty with sleep. What I saw before me stopped me in my tracks and had the tears flowing. There, painted in the snow with blue food coloring and surrounded by an arc of candles, was the question, “Will you marry me?”

image

I didn’t hesitate; I didn’t need to think about it. I said yes, and I’ve never been so sure of anything or so happy.

He then gave me my ring, a beautiful Champagne Diamond with little diamond accents set in rose gold. He had been worried about the ring choice, but he needn’t have been. He did good.

image

He did real good, and now we both get a stupid grin when either of us says fiancé.

One thought on “The Sweetest Thing

Leave a Reply

